Organisations & Policies

Consider the following statements about Particularly Vulnerable Tribal Groups (PVTGs) in India:

  1. PVTGs reside in 18 States and one Union Territory.
  2. A stagnant or declining population is one of the criteria for determining PVTG status.
  3. There are 95 PVTGs officially notified in the country so far.
  4. Irular and Kanda Reddi tribes are included in the list of PVTGs.

Which of the statements given above are correct?

  1. 1, 2 and 3
  2. 2, 3 and 4
  3. 1, 2 and 4
  4. 1, 3 and 4


Particularly vulnerable tribal group (PVTG) (earlier known as Primitive tribal group) is a Government of India classification created with the purpose of enabling improvement in the conditions of certain communities with particularly low development indices.

The features of such a group include a pre-agricultural system of existence that is practice of hunting and gathering, zero or negative population growth, extremely low level of literacy in comparison with other tribal groups.

PVTGs reside in 18 States and one Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar islands. There are 75 PVTGs officially notified in the country so far.

The Konda Reddis designated PVTG are found in the Indian state of Andhra Pradesh and Irular are designated PVTG in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu.

The correct option is C.