The Equatorial region has no other season except summer


The Equatorial region has no other season except summer. What could be the reason?

  1. The length of day and night is more or less equal over the year
  2. The Earth's rotational velocity is maximum at the Equator
  3. The coriolis force is zero at the Equator

Select the correct answer using the code given below:

  1. 1 only
  2. 1 and 2 only
  3. 2 and 3 only
  4. 1, 2 and 3


In general, the further away from the equator you travel, the cooler summer and winter temperatures become. At the equator there are no seasons because each day the Sun strikes at about the same angle. Every day of the year the equator receives about 12 hours of sunlight.

The poles remain cool because they are never tilted in a direct path of sunlight. Much light is scattered by the atmosphere before reaching the Earth surface at the poles. During midwinter, when a pole is tilted away from the Sun, there is no daylight at all. The sun never rises. However, during the summer, a pole receives sunlight all the time and there is no night.

The correct option is A.