World GK

Which one of the following countries was not a signatory to the SAARC Charter signed on December 1985?

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Sri Lanka
  3. Pakistan
  4. Maldives


The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is the regional inter-governmental organization of nations in South Asia. Its member states include Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, the Maldives, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

SAARC was founded in Dhaka on 8 December, 1985. The first SAARC summit was held in Dhaka and hosted by the President of Bangladesh. The declaration was signed by Bangladesh, Bhutan, Pakistan, India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Maldives.

Thus, SAARC was founded by seven states in 1985. Afghanistan joined SAARC as its eighth member state in April 2007.

The correct option is A.