How many members, the President of India can nominate to Lok Sabha & Rajya Sabha, respectively?

  1. 12, 2
  2. 2, 12
  3. 2, 10
  4. 10, 2


The Rajya Sabha or Council of States is the upper house of the Parliament of India. Membership is limited to 250 members, 12 of whom are nominated by the President of India for their contributions to art, literature, science, and social services.

The Lok Sabha (Assembly of the People) is the lower house of the parliament. It is composed of representatives of the people from 543 constituencies, chosen by direct election. The maximum strength of the House envisaged by the Constitution of India is 552, which is made up by election of up to 530 members to represent the states; up to 20 members to represent the Union Territories and not more than 2 members of the Anglo-Indian Community to be nominated by the President of India.

Correct Option is B.