Who among the following Prime Ministers of India were defeated by a vote of No Confidence?

  1. Morarji Desai
  2. Viswanath Pratap Singh
  3. H. D. Gowda
  4. Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Select the correct answer using the code given below:

  1. 1, 2, 3 and 4
  2. 1, 2, and 3 only
  3. 2, 3 and 4 only
  4. 1 and 4 only


A vote of no confidence means that a person in a position of responsibility is no longer deemed fit to hold that position. A Vote of No Confidence can be introduced only in the Lok Sabha. If a majority of the members of the house vote in favour of the motion, the motion is passed and the Government is bound to vacate the office.

Vishwanath Pratap Singh (1990), H. D. Deve Gowda (1997), Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1999), and Morarji Desai (1978) were defeated by the vote of no confidence.

The correct option is A.