Which one of the following is not one of the modes of acquisition of citizenship under the Citizenship Act, 1955?

  1. Descent
  2. Registration
  3. Incorporation of territory
  4. Overseas citizenship/dual citizenship


Parliament, in exercise of the powers given to it under article 11 of the Constitution, had passed the Citizenship Act, 1955, making provisions for acquisition and termination of citizenship after the commencement of the Constitution.

The Act provides for the acquisition of Indian citizenship after the commencement of the Constitution in 5 ways: birth, descent, registration, naturalization and incorporation of territory.

The correct option is D.