Which one of the following languages is not recognized in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India?

  1. English
  2. Sanskrit
  3. Urdu
  4. Nepali


Eighth schedule gives the Languages recognized by the Constitution. They are Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu. Sidhi was added by the 21st Amendment (1967) while Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali were added by the 71st Amendment (1992). 100th Amendment (2004) Dogri, Bodo, Santhali, Maithali. Now, there are 22 National languages.

The correct option is A.